This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

ASHENSPIRE - Debut Album Out In January, Details Revealed

UK based avantgarde metallers Ashenspire will release their debut album entitled Speak Not Of The Laudanum Quandary on 20th January 2017 via Code666. The upcoming album is a harrowing, yet distinctly human odyssey through the absurdities and tragedies of British imperialism, voiced in an appropriately deranged sprechgesang by the band’s creative director, Alasdair Dunn. The band takes influence from the original approach to extreme metal found in bands such as A Forest Of Stars, Dødheimsgard, Vulture Industries and Pensées Nocturnes, along with a strong taste for theatrics in the vein of Devil Doll and Diamanda Galas.
Ashenspire was conceived in 2013 by Alasdair Dunn and a close musical collaborator, Mitchell Morrison (both prior members of experimental black metal trio Enneract), under a mutual distaste for growing levels of superficial, romanticised nationalism in much of modern black metal. The aim was to create music that showed a more realistic picture of what the United Kingdom truly represents, looking at less savoury and more recent elements of its history. Album was recorded and mixed by Greg Chandler of Esoteric and mastered by Brad Boatright. Tracklist and cover artwork of Speak Not Of The Laudanum Quandary are below. Link

Speak Not Of The Laudanum Quandary tracklist:
01. Restless Giants
02. The Wretched Mills
03. Mariners At Perdition’s Lighthouse
04. Grievous Bodily Harmonies
05. A Beggar’s Belief
06. Fever Sheds
07. Speak Not Of The Laudanum Quandary