This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

ÅRABROT - New Album Details Revealed, Track Streaming Online

Norwegian noise-metal-punks Årabrot will release their sixth self-titled album through Fysisk Format on 19th August in Europe and on 3rd September in North America. Årabrot follows the band’s greatest success story to date, the 2011-released Solar Anus LP. With more uncaged power than ever, the album surprised even Årabrot’s own diehard fanbase; suddenly biblio-pornographic lyrics had become popular culture, as had Steve Albini’s sparse production technique. After winning a Grammy, Årabrot is now supported by Fund for Performing Arts and The Art Council of Norway. While writing Årabrot, singer and guitarist Kjetil Nernes inhabited an old abandoned church just across the border in Sweden, in a pastoral countryside where time has stood still for generations. While the lyrics on the 2010 release Revenge were a revenge fantasy dedicated to a certain someone, and Solar Anus and Mæsscr told stories of the human beast, Årabrot revolves around breaking away from city life and the feeling of social asphyxiation invoked by them. Nernes has revealed that much of the inspiration for the lyrics has been found in early 20th century surrealists like Georges Bataille and Robert Desnos, mixed with a fascination for the mythologies of ancient Greece and the Old Testament. Årabrot features a widened family of collaborators, most notably Emil Nikolaisen (Serena Maneesh/4AD), who in addition to recording and mixing the album, also plays bass and does backup vocals. Basic riffs, percussion and vocals were laid before Norwegian experimental music stalwarts Lasse Marhaug and Erland Dahlen added their musical substance to the mix, and a random visit by Laura Pleasants of Kylesa resulted in guest vocals on "Arrabal's Dream". The album was then mastered by Jason Ward at Chicago Mastering. Listen to the track "Arrabal's Dream" below. Link