This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

WRITTEN IN TORMENT - Debut Album Out Now And Streaming Online

  • Print

Black metal one-man band Written In Torment, formed by Leviathan back in 2003, has released a debut album entitled Bellum Omnium Contra Omnes via Glorious North Productions on 14th May. The only release of the band since now was in 2006 released EP The Uncreation. Album is available for streaming in its entirety on Bandcamp. Ten-track album was recorded, mixed and mastered by Jonny Maudling (Bal Sagoth) at his Wayland’s Forge studios. Maudling also performs session keyboards on the album. Written In Torment who draws his inspiration from bands as Emperor, Dissection and Abyssos, adds also influences from classical composers, as well from thrash and other forms of metal. Leviathan says: "Whilst I do have external influences, which musician doesn’t, my compositions are all very much about what I am feeling at the time I am writing them, so each piece always has its own identity and feel to it." Commenting on the new album, the multi-instrumentalist, who performs all vocals, guitars, bass and drum parts, says: "Bellum Omnium Contra Omnes, which translated from the original Latin means “The War of All Against All” focuses heavily on the subject of warfare throughout the ages, something I am particularly interested in. It’s a cataclysmic soundtrack to the art of war from the Crusades through to nuclear attack, as well as an exploration of human suffering and a nod in the direction of biblical mockery." Tracklisting, cover artwork and a song "Grief" can be checked below. Link

01. Earth Decimated
02. Eternities Of Suffering Endured
03. Beast Of The Depth
04. Descent Into Total Madness
05. O’ Fortuna
06. Grief
07. Solitude
08. Behold The Trinity Maimed And Rotten
09. A Pig Hung In Golgotha
10. Necessary Evil