This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

KATAVASIA - Announces Release Of Second Album, First Details Revealed

Greek black metallers Katavasia will release their highly anticipated second album, Magnus Venator, on 4th of September via Floga Records. Katavasia were formed in 2014 by members of well-known Greek metal acts such as Varathron, Hail Spirit Noir, Aenaon, Melan Selas, and Agnes Vein. The goal of the alliance was to compose and perform Greek black metal at its finest.

In 2015, Katavasia released their debut album, Sacrilegious Testament, which was highly praised by both media and fans for its dedication to the original Greek black metal sound but at the same time offering originality. A 7" EP titled Daemonic Offering followed in 2017 to prove, once again, the band's aptitude and hunger for more devilish riffs and engrossing atmosphere.

At long last, Katavasia return with their sophomore album, Magnus Venator. Translated into English as "The Great Hunter", indeed does Magnus Venator provide fuel for a frenzy of utterly classic Hellenic black metal, done by the originals (Varathron's Stefan Necroabyssious is again on vocals) and their reverent acolytes alike.

Katavasia are in their mightiest form here, offering a nine-track/42-minute experience that's equal parts triumph and tragedy, bloodlust and bathos: in short, everything that's so enveloping and eternal about the early '90s Greek black metal wave, but given a refreshingly epic twist. Further underlining those roots, George Emmanuel (Lucifer's Child, ex-Rotting Christ) contributes a guest guitar solo on "Hordes Of Oblivion".

Wrathful riffing, bombastic drumming, tons of classic heavy metal influences, and the trademark demonic screams of Stefan Necroabyssious - Katavasia have delivered a new "old' classic with Magnus Venator! First track premiere and preorder info to be revealed shortly. Cover and tracklisting are as follows below. Link

Magnus Venator tracklist:
01. Daughters Of Darkness
02. The Tyrant
03. Blood Be My Crown
04. Chthonic Oracle
05. Saturnalia Magnus Cult
06. Triumphant Fate
07. Sinistral Covenant
08. Hordes Of Oblivion
09. Babylon (Sammu-Rawat)

Related articles