This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2018

01. Aeon Sable
- Aether
02. Amorphis
- Queen Of Time
03. Atrium Carceri
- Codex
04. Dimmu Borgir
- Eonian
05. Behemoth
- I Loved You At Your Darkest
06. The Eternal
- Waiting For The Endless Dawn
07. MGT
- Gemini Nyte
08. Primordial
- Exile Amongst The Ruins
09. Khôrada
- Salt
10. Immortal
- Northern Chaos Gods


Random album

Angel Of Damnation - Heathen Witchcraft (2018) - Review

Band: Angel Of Damnation
Album title: Heathen Witchcraft
Release date: 26 October 2018
Label: Shadow Kingdom Records

01. Brimstone Sorcery
02. Dragged To The Torture Wheel
03. Gospel Of The Serpent (The Damnation Of Gehenna)
04. Heathen Witchcraft
05. Lord Of The Seven Churches
06. Tear Off The Veil Off The Sun

Formed in 2004, Angel Of Damnation are a traditional epic/doom metal band. The band which in its line-up features members of renowned acts such as Sacred Steel, Front Beast, Dawn Of Winter and Nocturnal, released their debut album, Carnal Philosophy, in 2015. Now, their sophomore effort Heathen Witchcraft is available through Shadow Kingdom Records.

The opening track "Brimstone Sorcery" sets the perfect creeping tone for the record with its slow build, grooves and yearning vocals. The next track, "Dragged To The Torture Wheel", is built around a riff that is more than a little similar to Pentagram's "Forever My Queen". It's a bit distracting but there's enough variety going on in the song and the riff itself that it doesn't come off as musical theft. It's actually kind of refreshing to hear such an iconic riff in a new light. I found "Gospel Of The Serpent (The Damnation Of Gehenna)" to be the most forgettable track here. But it still hits like a mud slide in slow motion. It says a lot when your weakest track is still an agreeable one.

Track four, the albums title track, is a ten minute monster that conjures up images of ancient castles, horse drawn carriages and nefarious barons. The lyrics of sorcery and torture work well with the dark, gothic vibe of the music to create the true stand out jam of the record. "Lord Of The Seven Churches" delivers a much needed shot of energy after the brooding of previous tunes while still bringing mythical imagery and strong riffs. If I can bitch about one thing, I'd argue this track should have sat somewhere in the first half of the album to help avoid any lull caused by the more sinisterly paced cuts. But that's more of a personal gripe than anything.

The sixth and final track, "Tear Off The Veil Of The Sun", is a powerful and melodic send off. There are moments throughout (especially in the chorus) that give a striking Geoff Tate of Queensryche feel that makes the track so much more epic than it already is. Add to this the stellar guitar work and sing-along lyrics and you have not only a memorable album closer but something that I suspect will be part of the band's setlist for some time to come.

Angel Of Damnation's Heathen Wtchcraft benefits from being less of a straight doom album than what most bands of the genre are churning out and more of an exercise in occult storytelling. The lyrics here bring to mind Vincent Price films like 'Masque Of The Red Death' and 'Tower Of London' while delivering the colossal cumbersome sound the doom metal is built on. It leaves the impression of being Candlemass' more quirky nephew. Quite mystical with plenty of love for empathy and dread while still showing enough originality to stand on its own.

Now is the time for music lovers to buy stock in Angel Of Damnation. Do yourself a favor and get your hands on this album. You won't be disappointed.

Review written by: Will Ring
Rating: 9/10


Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Sorrowful Land
Album title: Of Ruins...
Release date: 7 November 2016
Label: Solitude Productions

Welcome to an epic doomy journey! Songs are raging from more traditonal doom metal to a pure funeral doom. The band is hailing form Ukraine, a country which is not really known for doom bands, but it's more than great to see that they have promising acts there. Crushing, highly melodic, yet dark and deep, the band marches forward slowly and steady. They are building up one hell of a really nice energy around itself, like a wall of fragile and elegant sounds. With beautiful clean melodies and a clear idea where things are heading the band presents six tracks of pure crushing epic melancholic doom, this is everything you could ever want from a doom metal album, really, this record is a pure pile of gold for all doom metal fans. The songs tend to stick to very typical slow doom tempo, but still there's more than enough going on that you would ever expect. Sorrowful Land will clearly left a mark in the scene for sure with this stunning release.

Read a full review HERE