This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2018

01. Dimmu Borgir -
02. Amorphis -
Queen Of Time
03. Summoning -
With Doom We Come
04. MGT -
Gemini Nyte
05. Soul Dissolution -
06. Crone -
07. Midas Fall -
08. Collapse Of Light -
Each Failing Step
09. Mournful Congregation -
The Incubus Of Karma
10. Auri -


Random album

Nazghor - Infernal Aphorism (2017) - Review

Band: Nazghor
Album title: Infernal Aphorism
Release date: 13 October 2017
Label: Non Serviam Records

01. Opus Profanus
02. Malignant Posession
03. Decretion At Eschaton
04. The Darkness Of Eternity
05. Deathless Serpent
06. Rite Of Repugnant Fury
07. Ephemeral Hunger
08. Spawns Of All Evil
09. Absence Of Light
10. Infernal Aphorism

Really amazing releases in this year 2017 and I have a list of simply fantastic albums in my hands! This time Nazghor and their album of extreme quality, Infernal Aphorism, which was just recently released by the record label that has delivered some stunning masterpieces this year, Non Serviam Records. Nazghor, from the first release on, deliver laborious black metal. These warlocks joined forces in 2012 and rose before the dark hordes with at least one album a year. Already on their first albums we got a very crude, but already differentiated sound, covering lyrics about Satanism, the annulment caused by the traditional religions and misanthropic approachs. Nazghor has since their beginning stood out as one of the most prolific bands of Swedish black metal. The actual line-up is Nekhrid (vocals), Armageddor (guitars), Angst (guitars), Crowlech (bass), Cosmarul (drums). 

Infernal Aphorism is an album that can certainly please most of extreme metal fans, as well as those who enjoy black metal with more rhythm and melody. Infernal Aphorism is a strong and relatively long album with ten tracks, clocking in around one hour, that brings relentless stream of black art. The whole album is covered with a fiery, sublime and abyssal atmosphere, complemented by blast beats as hammers by Cosmarul. Throughout Infernal Aphorism we find tons of blast beats, amazing sharp, fast and also melodic guitar riffs with plenty of typical for black metal tremolo picks, but as well some nice twin guitars which will satisfy fans of Iron Maiden for example, bass lines are strong, and aggressive shrieking vocals of Nekhrid sometimes feel so very distant and so very hypnotic,... 

"Opus Profanus", the opening track, is a dark narrative in a cold atmosphere that nicely evolves and throws you to the second track named "Malignant Possession". This track is one highlights of this album. I loved the speed and the guitar riffs, well, those were simply enchanting for me. I like "Decretion At Eschaton", that is melodic but fierce. Interesting heavy metal riffs with fast beats and again the master of vocals in "The Darkness Of Eternity", a track that smoothly begins and then the blast beat thunderstorm sets in as a concrete block. “Absence Of Light” took me to deep abyss without light at all! Very dark and dense cold atmosphere, covered with a magnificent piano aligned cadenced passages with Nekhrid agonizing voice. A pleasant mid-90s remembrance. "Rite Of Repugnant Fury" and "Infernal Aphorism" have nice passages into dark atmosphere, the choirs are magnificent here. Most of the time they appear, but in the background without being distracting. "Infernal Aphorism" is an amazing track with a passionate vibe to close this masterstroke from Nazghor.

Once again Nazghor presents an excellent gem of black metal. Showing the refinement acquired during all this years. They once again show how to blend aggressiveness with beautiful melodies and epic riffs to make one hell of a great emotional absorbance. Infernal Aphorism is an amazing album, pure beauty from darkness, punchful, strong and mesmerizing.

Review written by: Felin Frost
Rating: 9/10


Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Cult Of Erinyes
Album title: Tiberivs
Release date: 27th April 2017
Label: Code666

The Belgian act Cult Of Erinyes has been on the metal scene since 2009. With their previous two EP's and a full-length album, the band has always shown its strength and talent in a passionate way in a quest for deep research of human nature and its many psychological facets that lead to often hateful and questionable behaviors. This is a black metal album with many atmospheric moments, but it is not a progressive black metal, nor it's a typical atmospheric black metal thing. There is a lot of brutality present, the old school vibe is there in a sweeping, but polished, well filtered way and the quieter and more atmospheric parts blend perfectly into all the whole soundscape, creating it even more audacious.

Read a full review HERE