Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2017

01. Sólstafir
- Berdreyminn
02. Ulver
- The Assassination Of Julius Caesar
03. Au Champ Des Morts
- Dans La Joie
04. Anathema
- The Optimist
05. God Body Disconnect
- Sleeper's Fate
06. Peter Bjärgö
- Animus Retinentia
07. Friends Of Alice Ivy
- The Last Days Of Fenwyck
08. Isenordal
- Shores Of Mourning
09. Phallus Dei
- Black Dawn
10. Au-Dessus
- End Of Chapter


Random album

Amiensus - All Paths Lead To Death [EP] (2017) - Review

Band: Amiensus
Album title: All Paths Lead To Death [EP]
Release Date: 19 May 2017
Label: Apathia Records

01. Gehenna
02. Mouth Of The Abyss
03. Prophecy
04. Desolating Sacrilege
05. The River

Following their successful full-length Ascension, which was released in 2015, this Minnesota (USA) based band Amiensus returns with a new EP, and those of you who follow our website should have already heard it as it was available for full streaming some days before its official release, otherwise you can still check it out over HERE.
The album is adorned by artwork named 'Satan Presiding at the Infernal Council' made by the famous English painter John Martin and blends maleficently with the lyrical theme’s, while the layout has been made by Manum Diaboli Art. Since the first album that was released in the early 2013, Amiensus have shown an insane commitment with the style with multifaceted music in intense tones and behaviors that flows changing directions but keeping the tracks on the road.
Amiensus on this EP show a bit more rude, brutal and darker EP than are all their previous releases. There are 29 minutes distributed along 5 very heavy tracks. Their multifaceted textures are built on a black metal foundation that slips sometimes into atmospheric progressive post metal style. The "end of times" frequencies that we experience with all that heavy and dark atmosphere it’s a celebration to the second’s wave of black metal bands. With this malefic album, Amiensus, brings for the fans of Agalloch, Enslaved and Dissection a refreshing "souffle" of early years, yet in a couple of moments it reminds a bit to the magnificient Austrian post  black metallers Harakiri For The Sky.

With all these grim and cold tracks, captivating dissonant melodies approaching us in a surreal desperate drama and with vocals that are so sharp with vicious shrieks and roars, we feel sometimes like walking in the fields of Hell. Passion was what I felt in the faster parts of this album. Firing blast beats, relentless riffings and tempos working in a linear way and the choral voices were very pleasant to hear.

Some more changes can be found in this new material aside what I describe above if compared to their previous releases. The keyboards and the clean vocals were suppressed and this I could notice since the opening track "Gehenna". High fevering riffs and drums matching with that terrifying screams and bear of hell roars as the haunting clean vocals forwarded by a beautiful instrumental performance makes this track one of my preferred ones. “Mouth Of The Abyss“, the second track, is also one that is worth the note. It's harsh from the beginning to the end. Vocals in this one reach a violent ferocity and as in "Gehenna", moments before reaching the end we are wrapped in a chilly melancholy. 

My mind felt threatened and I was absorbed by density of "Desolating Sacrilege". The bass lines here made my jaw drop. “The River“, the end of a deep and dark journey specially brightened the atmosphere here by the magnificient work of drummer Chris Piette; excellent job done man! I also liked a lot the mix of clean and ferocious vocals. Was pleasurable listening to this album, this last track, closes with a golden key inside this apocalyptical land constructed by Amiensus.

Review written by: Felin Frost
Rating: 8/10


Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Myrkur
Album title: M
Release date: 21 August 2015
Label: Relapse Records

On M Myrkur offers eleven tracks of haunting ambiances, short tracks with only one that exceeds five minutes in lenght, but each one of those brings forth quite an interesting blend of styles. M is a very dark album in its essence, it shows the savage side of nature which shines in beauty and Myrkur is an observer of all that. The ambiances go from some very ice cold ones to those warm ethereal parts where Myrkur with kind of a delicacy of features caresses the listeners soul. M shines from many aspects, it's a well composed album that shows both, the emotional, traditional and savage side of nature lover - Amalie Bruun. It also shows a huge talent of the composer and Amalie should be respected just for that. Her pop side does her many favors here, she knows how to make songs catchy when needed and it's nothing strange that Kristoffer Rygg aka Garm of the legendary Ulver co-produced this album and the job done is nearly to perfect. It adds kind of grimness, density and rough edge to the whole thing by reaching to get that old-school sound. Still, it doesn't sound too unpolished, the sound is clear enough.

Read a full review HERE