This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2018

01. Aeon Sable
- Aether
02. Amorphis
- Queen Of Time
03. Atrium Carceri
- Codex
04. Dimmu Borgir
- Eonian
05. Behemoth
- I Loved You At Your Darkest
06. The Eternal
- Waiting For The Endless Dawn
07. MGT
- Gemini Nyte
08. Primordial
- Exile Amongst The Ruins
09. Khôrada
- Salt
10. Immortal
- Northern Chaos Gods


Random album

Ashes You Leave - The Cure For Happiness (2012) - Review

Band: Ashes You Leave
Album title: The Cure For Happiness
Release date: 29 November 2012
Label: Rock N Growl Records

01. Devil In Disguise
02. Only Ashes You Leave
03. For The Heart, Soul And Mind
04. The Ever-Changing
05. Meant To Stray
06. Summer’s End
07. Reality Sad
08. The Cure
09. ...For Happiness

Croatian Ashes You Leave are back with their sixth album and my expectations were quite high regarding this release as I enjoyed very much in their previous studio album Songs Of The Lost from 2009. On Songs Of The Lost they reached the right combination in their own sound for the first time in their history, album was atmospheric, fragile, melodic, still dark and heavy, there was some kind of right chemistry, so I hoped that they'll stick on this formula. Unfortunately the band had many problems with the line-up and they endured some changes since 2009. There is a new female singer and drummer, and I'm quite sorry that Tamara Mulaosmanović left the band, because I was more than satisfied with her vocal approach and keyboard playing. The Cure For Happiness is a different story and I must say that it's a step backward from Songs Of The Lost.

All in all The Cure For Hapiness is not that bad, but not from the aspect regarding that this is bands sixth album. If this would be their debut it will be somehow satisfying, as there is not a lot of originality, production is a big letdown, many demos have better one, performance is kind of good one, the songwriting is adequate. If the band didn't release an album such it was before mentioned Songs Of The Lost then I'll judge this one from another perspective. Violin played by Marta Batinić is sounding great,  it gives kind of bond with early My Dying Bride who must be one bands biggest influences beside early Cathedral ("Ashes You Leave" is actually the song from Cathedrals 1993 album The Ethereal Mirror) and other doom and gothic mostly female fronted metal acts from 90's. The new vocalist Giada “Jada” Etro fits well into the whole picture, but there are too many moments when she losts the pace (for example in the chorus of "Devil In Disguise") . Her vocals can be sometimes very addictive, although nothing very special and she really can't be compared with their previous singer Tamara. Every other instrument is played well, yes, we have here a very talented band, just listen to magnificient guitars, especially occasional solos. Saša behind the drum kit is also one hell of the drummer and the keys played by guest Darko Terlević give the connection with gothic sounds. Another element that must be mentioned is the flute insertion, just listen how atmospheric everything becomes on "The Ever-Changing". In bands tendency to make their heaviest album ever they inserted more than usual dose of male growls and to tell the truth this is the point where the album losts its flow. Those growls work somehow silly and many times ruin the drive of the songs. For example in one of the best and longest songs up here "Summer’s End" where almost everything is on right place, the vibe, the catchiness, the right chemistry and emotion within pop elements becomes ruined by those uninspired growling vocals. I just wonder what they were thinking? Not to mention "Meant To Stray", how could you ruin something that has so many possibilities to be an outstanding doom metal track... and the list can go on and on with every single song. Just like I said before, the instrumental part is great, the typical doomy riffs in "Reality Sad" or dark "...For Happiness" work out impressive, also Giada shows her big potential, especially in the last one.

Unfortunatelly enough for Ashes You Leave this album gives a lot of contradictions and I believe that with just a bit of a different approach this could be an astonishing album. So, what we got is a good effort, but with too many glitches, the biggest one are vocals (male growls) and production which works somehow dry and shallow. I believe that the band wanted to make kind of rough and heavy record with this kind of production, but they lost the chemistry and depth that was reached on their previous studio album. I hope that it's not too late for them to learn the lesson as they are far from being the newcomers on the scene.

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 6,5/10

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Ugasanie
Album title: Eye Of Tunguska
Release date: 22 September 2015
Label: Cryo Chamber

Eye Of Tunguska is certainly Ugasanie’s most refined album to date. The drones, synths and field recordings of nature as well as other unearthly sounds, all flow together perfectly. Eye Of Tunguska is quite complex without ever feeling cluttered or noisy. We are told that Ugasanie was inspired to write this album by “A strange incident (which) took place in the 1990s in late autumn in the taiga. Not far from the epicenter of the Tunguska meteorite impact site. A group of students went hiking to see this legendary site. They lost their way after they decided to spend the night in one of the winter huts built by hunters of the land. Their mutilated bodies were later found near an old abandoned geological base with radiation burns.” Ugasanie paints a vivid picture here of the darkness and pure terror felt by these hikers as they experienced a potential alien or government abduction and their ensuing deaths. Ugasanie always amazes with his use of atmosphere coupled with a compelling plot. Eye Of Tunguska brings more of what we love of Ugasanie in a quite different manner than previous albums. While the sounds may be more subtle, the overarching story appears to better plotted than ever. Eye Of Tunguska is highly recommended for those who love dark ambient with sci-fi and/or polar isolation elements, not to mention a bit of horror-scape.

Read a full review HERE