PopUp MP3 Player (New Window)

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2016

01. The Human Voice - Silent Heart
02. Trees Of Eternity
- Hour Of The Nightingale
03. Darkher
- Realms
04. Aeon Sable
- Hypaerion
05. The Foreshadowing
- Seven Heads Ten Horns
06. NU:N
- Naked Until Noema
07. Cryo Chamber Collaboration
- Nyarlathotep
08. In The Woods...
- Pure
09. Klimt 1918
- Sentimentale Jugend
10. Terra Tenebrosa
- The Reverses


Random album

Draconian - Sovran (2015) - Review

Band: Draconian
Album title: Sovran
Release date: 30 October 2015
Label: Napalm Records

01. Heavy Lies The Crown
02. The Wretched Tide
03. Pale Tortured Blue
04. Stellar Tombs
05. No Lonelier Star
06. Dusk Mariner
07. Dishearten
08. Rivers Between Us [feat. Daniel Änghede]
09. The Marriage Of Attaris

I can easily say that the new Draconian album was one of mine most expected releases this year, especially when the news came that the magnificient female vocalist Heike Langhans will replace Lisa Johansson. Lisa gave her soul into the sound of Draconian on their past efforts, but left the band four years ago and we were left in some kind of uncertainty about what will happen with the band until they finally announced a new album. Draconian with their last two albums showed two sides of musical creativity, a masterpiece Turning Season Within from 2008 entered on my top 10 list of all times, while the previous one from 2011, A Rose For The Apocalypse, was quite a letdown in my opinion, as it didn't really offered anything special soundwise and only those devoted fans of the band really digged it. So, I was worried a bit if the band can get back on a right track again and make another stellar offering of gothic/doom metal like almost nobody else can do. Already with the very first listen my worries vanished and I was hooked by its melancholic and soaring character in an instant. Sovran is an absolute masterpiece within the genre, it might compete only with their albums like is before mentioned Turning Season Within or Arcane Rain Fell.

Sovran is a proof that the combination of gothic metal and doom metal works out perfectly if you have top notch musicians performing and composing it. While the pace of the album is a bit slower and not so direct like on some of their previous albums, the whole gloomy atmosphere is outstanding, songs are catchy, flowing, dramatic and absolutely racked by melancholy. Most of the melodies are stunningly captivating, guitar sound is gentle and heavy at the same time, often we hear those typical slowly gliding evocative trademark Draconian lines and riffs which brings tears in the eye, the rhythmic line is crushing, just right to give that necessary dose of turbulent doom metal and slight aggression into these compositions. The multidimensional ambiance gets often fulfilled with obscure gothy symphonic synths which give to the songs such an unimaginable depth and rich sound. Then the vocals... my love towards the hypnotizing, emotive and soothing voice of Heike already started to grow when I heard her solo project Lorelei and I completely felt for it with Ison's Cosmic Drone. She is a perfect substitute for as well marvelous singer Lisa Johansson, but Heike's voice is much more characteristic and special, it embraces with kind of warmth and if it wouldn't be for Anders, who with his deep, yet distinguishable growls offers a counterpart, she could take all of the credits and the sound could be imagined as if Ison made a gothic/doom release.

All of the songs on Sovran are nicely building up in atmosphere, there are so many layers and the one who would like to take everything this album offers should be concetrated on the music as much as possible, possibly setting up a perfect mood. In my opinion Sovran should be a successor to Turning Season Within, as there are many similarities in mood. From the heavy opener "Heavy Lies The Crown", the dramatic "Dusk Mariner", smooth melancholic "Stellar Tombs" and to the beautiful balladic "Rivers Between Us", a truly unique song with a broading romantic soundscape, something like Draconian never did before, where Heike and Anders gets accompanied by guest vocalist Daniel Änghede (Ison, Hearts Of Black Science, Crippled Black Phoenix), the band constantly embraces with such a high dose of emotional diversity and dark mood variations. Actually Sovran is full of soaring moments, threatening moods and groovy parts, like for example in the mesmerizing "Pale Tortured Blue", where the subtle sound of violin so nicely blends into the whole spectrum before the song expands into a groovy driving mass of dense soul-stirring sound. The album ends with "The Marriage Of Attaris", another song that has all the necessary characteristics to became another Draconian classic, in a way parts of it remind me to their beautiful hit "Bloodflower".

Sovran is magical, soothing, melancholic and dreamy adventure, yet it is ponderous, powerful and heavy by partly remaining loyal to the formula from their debut album, Where Lovers Mourn (2003), where the band made a deviation from their early death/black metal days into a dark and doomy metal style which convinced fans of bands like My Dying Bride, Paradise Lost and early Anathema. Also productional wise Sovran is absolutely flawless, it has depth, dynamics, clear sound,... simply great. Now the band is walking on higher grounds and are near to conquering the throne of gothic/doom metal genre. Sovran is a strong candidate for album of the year 2015. A must!!!

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 9,5/10

Related articles

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Atrium Carceri
Album title: Archives I-II
Release date: 22 March 2016
Label: Cryo Chamber

The dark ambient powerhouse Atrium Carceri is back with something a little different this time around. Archives I-II looks back on the last ten years of the Atrium Carceri project. Simon Heath chose his favorite lost gems and gave them all a makeover by way of re-editing, mixing, and mastering into two long tracks totaling almost an hour and a half. Archives I-II is the first long form album by Atrium Carceri, Simon has used two long tracks, almost a full album length each. Archives I-II has everything that an Atrium Carceri fan could possibly hope to hear. Within these two tracks are many of the hallmarks of the dark ambient and specifically Atrium Carceri sound. While considering this for review I listened quietly with headphones, as well as on the metro, also with larger speakers while gaming, while going to sleep, and while reading. Archives I-II was the perfect companion in each instance. The production value and creative talents are pouring out of this release and I promise it will not get old any time soon.

Read a full review HERE