Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2017

01. Lacrimosa
- Testimonium
02. Sólstafir
- Berdreyminn
03. Soror Dolorosa
- Apollo
04. Ulver
- The Assassination Of Julius Caesar
05. Myrkur
- Mareridt
06. Sun Of The Sleepless
- To The Elements
07. Moonspell
- 1755
08. Au Champ Des Morts
- Dans La Joie
09. Andras
- Reminiszenzen...
10. Svartsinn
- Mørkets Variabler


Random album

2 Wolves - Shelter (2014) - Review

Band: 2 Wolves
Album title: Shelter
Release date: 24 October 2014
Label: Inverse Records

01. Freedom Of Two
02. Surrounding Fields And Stars In The Sky
03. Wake Of Beauty
04. Scar Collection
05. Visitors
06. Serpentine Paths In The Autumn Night
07. Shelter
08. The Lake Of Black Swans

There really were not a lot of mesmerizing gothic metal albums released lately, don't you think the same, and I hoped to get my satisfaction with the new album from Finnish quartet 2 Wolves. Considering the fact that Shelter is already the bands fourth studio album I'm a bit ashamed to confess that this is my first encounter with their music, so I had to spend some time discovering their past endeavours. 2 Wolves were formed in 2010 and regarding to this fact we must give them credits for their unrelenting creativity. With the new album a band presents quite some changes in their sound, making it more melodic, with much more emphasis on clean vocals. Saying this note that the most notable thing is a change behind the main vocals as the main vocalist Ilkka Valkonen left the band just before the recordings on new album started and guitarist Aleksi Susi took over the harsh vocals while the other guitarist, Ossi Viren, steped behind the microphone for the clean ones.

2 Wolves musical output smells so generically Suomi that you can't miss their origins from hundreads of kilometers away. So, I must be truthful and tell you that you won't discover anything new, rather than that be prepared for just another typical melodic melancholic gothic metal album with influences that goes into doom and death metal. Musically speaking the band dwells in the waters previously discovered by many of their country mates like Amorphis, To/Die/For, Entwine, Sentenced, For My Pain, Yearning, Swallow The Sun,... Still, the instrumental side is pretty satisfaying, always keeping the melody at the highest grade, and with the melancholic atmosphere all over the band is able to provoke some nice emotional moments. Superficially everything seems quite simple and mellow but there are some intriguing twists, especially when the band implements their sound with some electronic samples, then when heavier mid-paced riffs leave the way to some crushing doom passages or even when the acoustic lines come in front, like in the too short nostalgic album titled instrumental. The main clean vocals are thoroughly very dissaponting, almost irritating and plain, by trying to be emotional and heavy at the same time it simply doesn't work out. Maybe if you liked Jarno Perätalo's way of singing in To/Die/For or Mika Tauriainen's in Entwine, but with a bit more unpolished approach, then this will be for your ears. On a couple of occasions Viren does sing with a bit deeper voice and that is much better, otherwise the band tends to add some heaviness with growling vocals, but what the hell were they thinking when both vocals sing at the same time the same lines? It just doesn't work out.

Beside previously mentioned albums title track I can expose as standouts the semi balladic catchy "Wake Of Beauty", a bit more dramatic "Visitors" with some nice gothy keys and divergent yet well built structure with all the elements of a classy goth/doom metal, then also when the band kicks off with maybe the heaviest hypnotic moment and some psyched out strings at the end of "Serpentine Paths In The Autumn Night" is quite satisfactory. In my opinion 2 Wolves shows their best side in the last one, almost eight minutes long "The Lake Of Black Swans" where their creativity reaches the highest point. Not only the composition of the track, but as well the overall ambiance and diversity of elements used, especially the last three minutes of the song are kind of a flawless gothic doom metal that could be as well taken off, for example from the great Swallow The Sun's last album Emerald Forest And The Blackbird. But this is just not enough...

So, all in all Shelter is just another try to bring back the glory days of Suomi gothic metal but it doesn't reach anywhere further than to be just another one of many repetitions of that typical "made in Finland" gothic metal things, and to say the truth we heard many better things before. Of course if you are a fan of before mentioned bands as references than I suggest you to give it a try. Well, from my side I can say that it didn't quenched my hunger after a good gothic metal album.

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 6,5/10

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Born For Bliss
Album title: Falling Back To Never
Release date: 16 October 2015
Label: Echozone

Born For Bliss is finally back with an album that's by all means a proper masterpiece, Falling Back To Never, which takes with such an ease the listener into a magical world that can be rarely witnessed. Falling Back To Never is like a story told in twelve chapters and as the opener "Innocent" is repetitively saying, "tell me your story, tell me you're innocent...", you know in an instant what will be about lyricaly wise. If the opening song can be counted like a rather hypnotic and psychedelic, yet very multidimensional introduction into Falling Back To Never, the real drama and whole new world opens up with "This Narrow Place". The sound on the album is somehow complex, constantly divided between the emotional, gentle, atmospheric new wave sound, and the one a bit more hypnotic, but still there's not a single second on it where it loses its extraordinary pathos. The vocal job is simply breathtaking, it's difficult to explain what kind of a power, passion and emotion is poured into it, let it be when Frank sings alone or in a duet with Lori, one of the finest examples of such a duet must be the driving "Better Than Me". The overall very atmospheric sound is often enriched with use of various electronics, synths, piano touches and much more other well thought insertions. The one who takes this sonic journey must be satisfied in the end, because albums like it's Falling Back To Never are rarely released these days. A masterpiece!

Read a full review HERE