This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

AETERNUS - Reveal Details And Presents First Track From Upcoming Album

  • Print

Norwegian dark metal legends Aeternus have set 12th October as the release date for Heathen, their eighth full-length album. The album will be out through Dark Essence Records and have now revealed full details of the album and debuted a track from it.
Heathen, which will mark the band's 25th anniversary, is all that you would expect from Aeternus, which was founded in Bergen by guitarist and frontman Ares, and is one of the original pioneers of the dark metal genre. The seven-track album is packed full of Aeternus' trademark sound, which combines features from both black metal and death metal. The complex extreme music is spiced with heavy riffs and melodic interludes, performed to perfection by vastly experienced and extremely skilled musicians. The artwork was done by Tom Korsvold and photography is by Ares.
Aside from Ares, Aeternus' line-up is composed of Phobos (Gravdal, Gorgoroth live) on drums and Krakow's Eld on bass. Live guitar duties have been taken up by Gorm (Thyruz) and the band will accompany Taake on their South American tour in September.
The just revealed track, "The Sword of Retribution", can be heard in the player below, as well, below the player, you can see the front cover artwork and tracklisting. Link


Heathen tracklist:
01. Hedning
02. The Sword Of Retribution
03. Conjuring Of The Gentiles
04. The Significance Of Iblis
05. How Opaque The Disguise Of The Adversary
06. Boudica
07. ‘Illa Mayyit