This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2018

01. Aeon Sable
- Aether
02. Amorphis
- Queen Of Time
03. Atrium Carceri
- Codex
04. Dimmu Borgir
- Eonian
05. Behemoth
- I Loved You At Your Darkest
06. The Eternal
- Waiting For The Endless Dawn
07. MGT
- Gemini Nyte
08. Primordial
- Exile Amongst The Ruins
09. Khôrada
- Salt
10. Immortal
- Northern Chaos Gods


Random album

KLIMT 1918 - Announces New Album And Streams First Track

Eight long years after the release of its album, Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again (Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation), the Italian band Klimt 1918 returns with a new, this time a double album entitled Sentimentale Jugend, which will be released through Prophecy Production on 2nd December. Klimt 1918 stay true to their sound, alternating the energetic and the dreamy, the band's sound a boss blend of shoegaze, indie and new wave, straight from the 80s and 90s. Ultimately, Sentimentale Jugend harkens back to such diverse artists as The Chameleons, iLikeTrains, Cocteau Twins, The Jesus And Mary Chain, The Everly Brothers, Sigur Rós and Dead Can Dance, earning Klimt 1918 the tag "dirty and noisy three beats dream pop".
A taste of what Sentimentale Jugend holds in store can be sampled now, as the band is streaming the new song, "Comandante", in the player below.
When asked about the track, vocalist/guitarist Marco Soellner commented: ""Comandante" is a song dedicated to Jorge Josè Ricardo Masetti Blanco. He was an Argentinean journalist who got several interviews with Fidel Castro, as well as with Che Guevara during the Cuban Revolution as a special correspondent and reporter. Struck by the political commitment and devotion towards the ideal of the two guerilleros, he became the leader of one of Argentina's first guerrilla organizations with the codename "Comandante Segundo". He started and led this revolution almost alone and killed in complete loneliness. "Comandante" speaks about loneliness, a loneliness that belongs to who takes on his own responsibilities and decides to accomplish his own goals knowing that by doing so, he would end up alone. It's the loneliness of the commander because it refers to a poem that I've always loved called "Invictus" written by English poet William Ernest Henley. It gives the feeling that everyone should be master of his fate and captain of his soul even if in life, making these choices results in being alone as  it's hard to find people to share them with."
Sentimentale Jugend consists of the separate albums, Sentimentale (9 songs, 54 minutes) and Jugend (10 songs, 53 minutes), the former being the more "serene" chapter with its slow and partially long tracks, whereas the latter with its faster tunes is the more driving counterpart. One has to be a decided connoisseur of alternative music culture to associate the title Sentimentale Jugend (Sentimental Youth) with the short-lived experimental noise act of the same name, founded by Alexander Hacke (Einstürzende Neubauten) and his then significant other Christiane Flescherinow (also known as Christiane F. from the bestselling non-fiction book "We Children From Bahnhof Zoo") in the early 1980s.
However, Klimt 1918 names its latest double album after this footnote of pop history for a reason, namely a conscious hint at the underlying mood of the songs. Sentimentale Jugend captures West Berlin in its pulsating, nihilistic glory during the late 70s - just as David Bowie did with his Berlin Trilogy of the albums Low, Heroes and Lodger - and processes notions from Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck's award-winning movie "The Lives Of Others", be it the foggy winter atmosphere in East Berlin during the early 80s or the female protagonist's melancholy. Sentimentale Jugend is available for pre-orders at this location. Link