This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

ANAGNORISIS - Reveals Details About The Upcoming Album

USA based black metallers Anagnorisis will release their new album entitled Peripeteia through Germany's Vendetta Records. The CD, cassette, and digital edition will be issued worldwide on 21st October, with the vinyl edition to hit several weeks later. The band now revealed the front cover artwork, tracklist and some other details.
Peripeteia is an honest and passionate autobiography of vocalist, and now protagonist, Zachary Kerr. The themes in the album have no apparent beginning or end as the record is composed to infinitely loop, repeating the dramatic emotions we all encounter in our own lives. Peripeteia is not only the culmination of the band's legacy in the US black metal scene, but a story thirty years in the making, told through the heart-breaking lens of audio tapes from Kerr's childhood, spliced throughout the album. Kerr writes, on the aftermath of his father's death, "...when we arrived at my parents' house, a tape recorder and two cassette tapes, dating back from 1982 through 1987, were sitting out on the kitchen table. One of the cassettes had printed on it a poor attempt of me writing my name, probably around the age of five".
It is these tapes that Anagnorisis has woven into a tale started in 1982 and finished in 2016, resulting in fifty-four minutes of music that captures the hope, fear, loss, joy and anger a child experienced, viewed, as Kerr writes in the final track, "through the eyes of man..."
The new album evolves key musical themes from Beyond All Light (released in 2013) in a skillful, operatic way. Black metal continues to be the dominant genre with guitarist and songwriter Zak Denham crafting the music and production of the record. The album is rounded out by bassist Josh Mumford and keyboardist Samuel Hartman, who also contributes alto saxophone to the record. For drums, the group tapped Černá and Boreworm drummer Cody McCoy to contribute. The liner jacket of the record contains the phrase "taped lies on loop," an homage to the struggle that Kerr underwent during the writing of the record, forced to relive the deceit and manipulation he suffered as a child, while the jacket cover shows a six-year-old Kerr, watching a butterfly in his parents' yard. The tapes sampled on the record provide a cyclical look into the past, coupled with an eerie foreshadowing of his current life; a heart-wrenching inclusion that propels the message and concept of Peripeteia to astounding height. Link

Peripeteia tracklist:
01. Transparent −
02. Disgust & Remorse, Pt I
03. Disgust & Remorse, Pt II
04. 5306 Morningside
05. Night Skies Over Nothingness
06. Peripeteia
07. Metamorphosis
08. Transparent +