This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

MELANCHOHOLICS - New Album Out This Month, Details Revealed

Melanchoholics, a three-piece band which started their way back in 2001 in Düsseldorf (Germany) will release on 31st January through Eibon Records their third full-lenght album entitled Solar Café. The band was founded by guitarist Benedikt and bassist Philip who met by coincidence on a bus trip. On Solar Café Melanchoholics once again have set their attention directly to the lurid sides of human personalities: desperate internal fears and simplistic structures and melodies fleshed out well with subtle textures and voices. The feeling is one of lamentation and dreariness as the sounds trudge along. Yet there is a warmth and smokiness to it as well. There is a colourful darkness before that day comes... the moment to celebrate the return of sunlight. Album was recorded and mixed by Melanchoholics between 2006 and 2010. The cover artwork as of Solar Café was done by Derek Roczen. It's based on a series of stunning photos Benedikt shot during research for a documentary on the long waiting period for the summer solstice in the village of Flateyri situated in Iceland's Westfjords. Hence the album title Solar Café. Almost one year later Benedikt died of cancer at the age of 32. Melanchoholics managed to complete the album shortly before Benedikts departure. Tracklist and cover artwork (click on the picture to enlarge) are below. Link

Solar Café tracklist:
01. Rotten City Radio
02. Adam Dunkel
03. Paranoia Lodge
04. Hiring Bearded Women
05. Solar Café
06. Presence Of Absence
07. The End Belongs To This World
08. Nuclear Wellfare [CD bonus]
09. Minus1One