This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

ASHBURN COUNTY - New Collection Of Songs Out This Month

  • Print

Ashburn County will release on 31st May via Beläten Records a new collection of songs entitled Our Dead Selves Rise: A Collection. This release will be available on cassetee and as a digital download, with a bewildering number of styles present and it makes it almost impossible to describe what's awaiting the listener. In their attempt to recreate the ambience of the swamps of their native Louisiana, Ashburn County pulls in influences from cinema (notably S.F. Brownrigg's films), photography (Ralph Eugene Meatyard, Clarence John Laughlin) and music (ranging from Somewhere In Europe to Coil), and then builds up their very own mythology full of melancholy and terror, ghost tales and dancing skeletons. A visual universe in which each song is like the sequence of a film. Ashburn County is the work of Leroy Delbert Quebedeaux and a long line of collaborators. Our Dead Selves Rise was compiled by Beläten from two private edition CDRs; Scenes Of Daily Life In The Rural South, and Ashen-Faced. Below you can give a listen to the "Cracks In The Wall (Alternate Mix)". Link